San Miguel Beer Consumer Report

I am currently 40 years old, and I have been consuming San Miguel Beer products for over 20 years. I bought my first few cases of SMB Pale Pilsen at my 15th year old birthday party, and have been consistently been drinking beer since then.

At first, I used to drink every weekend on Friday and Saturday nights, and maybe the occasional Sunday afternoon.  When I got into college at age 18, I began drinking San Miguel Beer on a near daily basis. And not just one bottle, but averaging around 8 to 10 bottles per day.

In the 90’s, Student organizations I was involved with in UP Diliman held events which featured San Miguel Beer. There was Upsilon Sigma Phi’s Polo-Singan event which featured smorgasbord of free beer and a Side-A concert at the Manila Polo Club. Then, there was UP JMA’s Heaven’s Door which was the first concert held at the Megatrade Hall. That time, you could see us lugging cases of beer from the grocery up the escalators. And there are still more events I’ve organized and attended, and always with a San Miguel beer in my hand to celebrate.

After college, San Miguel Beer and its by-products like Super Dry, Blue Ice (remember?), Red Horse, Cerveza Negra and San Mig Light have all passed through my palate and have contributed to my not-so-sexy but huggable beer belly. My choice for drinking San Miguel after all these years is based on a simple fact – there was no other beer around. Even with the current advent of imported beers like Coors, Budweiser, Stella Artois, Corona, Heineken, or even with the rise of competition from local beers like Colt45 of Asia Brewery – San Miguel Beer has still remained a favorite. It’s just something that I’m used to and certainly will not be disappointed with. In fact, I consider San Miguel Beer like an old friend.

As an old friend, I have been kind to San Miguel Beer. I have given him so much money over a decade or so.  At a rough average of P500 per week, or P26,000 a year for more than 10 years – well, that’s a lot of money. I’ve never really found the need to ask for anything in return. On its own, San Miguel Beer is fulfilling enough to provide a nice intoxication, a proud beer belly, and memorable moments celebrating with friends, and even in crying with friends.

But now – I do have something to ask from San Miguel.

I would like to ask San Miguel to stop advertising their beer, and instead spend their advertising budget for other worthwhile projects. San Miguel Beer does not need to spend millions upon millions on celebrity endorsements for their Christmas ads. San Miguel Beer does not need to spend useless expense for TVC slots, billboard ads, print ads or merchandising. Well – merchandising maybe.

San Miguel Beer is at the top of the beer food chain in the country, and even if they stopped advertising altogether for one year – they would probably increase their profits due to unnecessary advertising spending. Every day – all over the country – people drink San Miguel Beer (and their co-products). Whether they are sad or celebrating, SMB is on the menu. SMB can be found in almost every major store, grocery, restaurant, bar and sari-sari store. Their sales will never ever suffer because they are the number one demand in their market.

With that being said – I would wish for San Miguel Beer to focus on eliminating poverty by diverting advertising expense into socially responsible programs and projects. They can provide housing programs of their own without the need to tie up with NGOs. I’m not certain what other socially responsible programs San Miguel Beer engages in, but I’m very sure that they give support to charities and foundations, and do their best in actively pursuing their civic duties. However, imagine if the budget was bigger because they would divert advertising funds they don’t need.

But apart from San Miguel, all companies and products with a monopoly of sorts should also end all their ad campaigns. Smart and Globe need not spend on advertising because every day their product is used. They don’t need celebrity endorsements that cost millions, and they don’t need billboard ads or print ads. Because of their technology, they can directly send promotion packages and special offers direct to their customers. Text text lang iyan.

Anyway – cheers to San Miguel Beer. I just bought a case of Pale Pilsen in cans to fill my ref. And as an avid consumer for over 20 years. Please consider my humble advice.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

