Philippine Sports: Manny Pacquiao vs Ricky Hatton On May 2

Ricky Hatton Is Next Victim of Manny Pacquiao

Ricky Hatton Is Next Victim of Manny Pacquiao

After the historical victory of Manny Pacquiao over Oscar De La Hoya, Manny Pacquiao will now be set to fight Ricky Hatton on May 2, 2009 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Freddie Roach – the trainer of Manny Pacquiao – has expressed that Manny Pacquiao will be beating Ricky Hatton via KO. Floyd Mayweather Sr. – the trainer of Ricky Hatton – thinks that Manny Pacquiao will not stand a chance against Ricky Hatton. Big words from both trainers who definitely show confidence in their fighters. But – in the end – all will be settled in the ring.

As a Filipino – of course, I’m rooting for Manny Pacquiao. I believe he is a great boxer, but then also like many Filipinos I believe there is still that big question mark  looming in my mind about Manny Pacquiao. Trying to be an avid fan of Manny Pacquiao doesn’t come easy. I admire Manny Pacquiao as a boxer, but there are just other aspects of Manny Pacquiao‘s person that I can’t stand.

There’s Manny Pacquiao the actor. Damn! I can’t even believe he even tried his luck there. Lucky for him, he got to lock lips with screen siren Ara Mina, but I’d rather watch Manny Pacquiao on TV while boxing in the ring instead of looking like an idiot acting for some action flick. He’s not even eloquent enough to answer basic questions, and yet he tries to go one step more into delivering movie lines. Puh-lease!

There’s also Manny Pacquiao the recording artist and singer. You’ve heard him speak. You really think he can sing?

There’s also Manny Pacquiao the politician. I really dislike the fact that he wants to enter the realm of Philippine politics. I’m really glad that the people of General Santos didn’t vote him into Congress when he ran in the last national election. It just goes to show that even the most prolific of Manny Pacquiao fans have enough wisdom to know that Manny Pacquiao’s place is in the boxing ring and not the political arena. I’m pretty certain that his wealth may buy him a seat in Philippine politics, but then he can always do good for the country even without sitting in government. Forming a foundation or a non-government organization should be good enough for Manny Pacquiao without having to add the title Congressman or even Senator to his name.

Manny Pacquiao the gambler, the cock fighter, the billiard king and the poker player. Manny – do something better with your money!

Anyway – that’s among the things I don’t like about Manny Pacquiao. But when it comes to boxing. Well – of course – I’m there as a staunch supporter of Manny Pacquiao, and will be among the millions who will cheer for him in beating up the likes of Oscar De La Hoya, Juan Manuel Marquez, Marco Antonio Barrera, and now Ricky Hatton. After all, Manny Pacquiao has earned my respect with the talent he has in the boxing ring. And that’s what I like.

I guess the big question mark about Manny Pacquiao, and what makes me have second thoughts about thinking whether he can win or not is because he has all these other distractions in other “career moves.” This lack of focus on his boxing career has led me several times to question whether or not Manny Pacquiao will come out the winner. I had doubts about his performance against Juan Manuel Marquez (I still believe Marquez was the better boxer in their rematch), and I certainly had doubts against Manny Pacquiao versus Oscar De La Hoya. But nevertheless, I cheer for him – for country, for Philippine pride.

Of course, I also can’t help thinking that maybe all these other distractions around Manny Pacquiao will one day catch up with him. One day some boxer will knock the shit out of Manny Pacquiao because Manny would’ve just been too distracted with promoting Magic Sing and locking lips with leading ladies. And when that day is realized – eventually I  will be forced to say that Manny Pacquiao is a joke. Give credit to where credit is due, and of course give credit to the fact that Manny Pacquiao will be a boxing legend around the world. At least he has that one good thing no one will ever take away. But if he continues to dabble into other distracting extracurricular activities – it’ll be difficult to put together a wholeness of respect for the total person of Manny Pacquiao.

Well – I have a feeling… Ricky Hatton is going to kick the shit out of Manny Pacquiao. But Manny – I’ll cheer for you nonetheless.

Mabuhay ka, Pac-Man!

Manny Pacquiao vs Ricky Hatton Tickets and Ringside Seats Available Here.

3 Responses to “Philippine Sports: Manny Pacquiao vs Ricky Hatton On May 2”

  1. Hatton vs. Pacquiao should be a really good match. I was confident Manny would win the de la Hoya match; not so confident of his odds here.

    Also, I think I read a Sports Illustrated article that Manny was only going to do two more matches, and then try politics again. I wish he wouldn’t. Politics is a cut-throat game, and Manny, while his heart is in the right place, doesn’t seem like the kind of guy who’d be cut out for it.

  2. Politics is a different focus altogether, and I really wouldn’t want Manny Pacquiao to go there. He has enough “political” friends, and I’m sure he can do a lot by supporting them with his financial resources, but he really doesn’t need to get into it.

  3. You can buy Pacquiao Hatton bout live via satellite viewing at the Irwin Theater, Ateneo De Manila University, for 300 pesos. It will be held on May 3 2009, 8am-12pm.

    You can reach us at 09173221956

Leave a Reply

