Philippine Lifestyle: Rogue Magazine’s Art Issue Is Just Awesome!

Christina Bartges on Cover of Rogue November Issue

Christina Bartges on Cover of Rogue November Issue

I had my misgivings about the October issue of Rogue Magazine, and felt that the guys at Rogue didn’t really come up with the meat-y, rogue-ish articles I had been accustomed to since the beginning of Rogue.
However, the November 08 issue of Rogue – The Art Issue – has got me back to giving raves and praises with what they put out. Of course, anything with regards to art is already very rogue to begin with, but then the perennial tug-of-war between the definition and bounds of art will always be a tricky subject, and one that won’t be a very easy pill to swallow. There’s just so much going on with art and its many expressions that make it difficult to conclude a sense of finality on the subject matter, but then it’s also a great reason to go nuts in pushing it to the limit, threshing out everything that can be said about it without having to exhaust oneself by saying too much.
I sincerely believe that Rogue has done well in tackling the subject of art, providing many substantial elements about Philippine art and artists and then some. The articles were well-conceived and the artists they featured give a fresh look to the Philippine art scene. Just when you thought the art scene was fading, Rogue gives a refresher on its vitality, and manages to capture the essence of the scene – well, at least Rogue has gone beyond the surface.

I read the magazine from cover to cover, and from the start of the issue with The Editor’s Letter of Jose Mari Ugarte, I was already grabbed by the balls. In a nice way. Jose Mari Ugarte did a fantastic job in explaining the process of piecing together the November issue of Rogue Magazine, and his insight to the orchestration of the process of magazine-making is a great story on its own.

I also enjoyed the piece on Kawayan De Guia written by Jay Abastillas. While I still think the transcription of interviews doesn’t really come up as an article, and looks like a style bludgeoned to death by FHM, there are times when it can work. I believe Jay Abastillas was lucky to have found such an awesome subject as Kawayan De Guia and he managed to string together great questions which really brought out the person and artist in Kawayan De Guia.
I also enjoyed the article on recyclable trash being turned into art, written by Audrey Carpio. Well, I might be a bit bias to favor Audrey Carpio since she’s been my Scrabble-mate before Scrabulous was taken away from Facebook, but she really does well in putting the piece together, giving the readers a sense of importance to how garbage and art contribute to our lives in the world. She gives that connection instead of just being subjective about the topic, and allows the readers to be connected to the subject because, at one point or another, we too are responsible for garbage. It’s really nice how Audrey Carpio fits it all in for her readers to understand what’s going on at a very personal level, and leaves the challenge to the reader to take part in the problem-solving of recyclable garbage and art without being too preachy about it. Very well-crafted words there.
I also got hooked on the awesome collage of Filipina artists – Nikki Luna, Lara De Los Reyes, Hanna Pettyjohn, Bea Valdes, Isa Lorenzo, Yasmin Sison, MM Yu, Bea Camacho et al, and at the very awesome piece on Rogue’s November cover girl Christina Bartges by Paolo Lorenzana. Of course, the pictures of Christina Bartges were just mind-blowing – just like what I would expect of Rogue.
Lastly, the best part of the November issue is the inclusion of my picture at The Wire section of Rogue. The picture was taken during the September wrap-party and birthday party of Rogue magazine’s marketing director Katrina Tuason. It was an unflattering picture, but I guess it’s my own fault for stinging out my tongue like that for the picture. After all, I should take full responsibility for my own actions (tongue-sticking and all) in front of any camera. At least, my kids thought it was really cool that everyone else was smiling and looking pretty, and I had my tongue stuck out.
“Dada looks like a rockstar!”
I can’t argue with that.
Anyway, grab the November issue of Rogue Magazine – out on stands now. For subscriptions, you may call M-Express at 852-0000.

2 Responses to “Philippine Lifestyle: Rogue Magazine’s Art Issue Is Just Awesome!”

  1. Grace McGrane Says:

    Could I please access the article about your November 2008 Rogue Feature about Christina Bartges?

Leave a Reply

