Philippine Lifestyle: Ruffa Mae Quinto Is Rogue Magazine’s Latest Cover Girl

Ruffa Mae Quinto on Rogue's October Cover

Ruffa Mae Quinto on Rogue

Ever since the first Rogue Magazine came out, I was floored. I found Rogue Magazine so awesome that I read everything from cover to cover, and really took in the well-researched and well-written articles. The people behind Rogue Magazine, I must say, have been doing a very wonderful job at coming up with a great magazine that really differentiates and stands out among other men’s lifestyle magazines. However…

I must confess that I am pretty disappointed with the latest issue. No offense to Chad Rialp (you are a cool guy), but the piece on Gary Lising was very “on the surface.” In fact, I don’t even think it’s an article because it ended up just being a question and answer article. Where the hell is the creativity in that? I mean – that’s not an article – That’s just transcription! I’m sure Gary Lising had all these fantastic things to tell about people he met and the stories behind it, but to just put it out verbatim from the tape recorder is just not my cup of tea when it comes to writing. I’m sorry to say this to the guys at Rogue Magazine, but for a moment there you went down to the level of FHM.

Also, I didn’t learn anything new at all about Ruffa Mae Quinto except her long list of involvements, which just made Rogue Magazine look like a showbiz tabloid. Great actress blah-blah-blah, but that’s all been said and done even in other magazines. Earl Ignacio made a decent attempt at making a funny story out of it, but it ends up being all about him and nothing at all about Ruffa Mae Quinto, who just happens to be the cover girl. I mean – you should write something that focuses on the cover girl, no? Some high school essays are even better than that. Once again, I hate to say it, but it went down to the level of FHM.

Even the dudes who wrote on Filipino humor and whatever – nothing new. That’s something we already know, and in fact has been written about several times over. Argh. I don’t want to complain anymore.

When I purchase an issue of Rogue Magazine, I’m always hoping to find something that stands out – pictures and especially the articles. I don’t even mind that the articles go for 8 pages because I love the fact that everything is talked about and nothing is missed. Refer back to the articles on Rene Knecht, BongBong Marcos, Mar Roxas, Shawn Yao, The Boracay Establishment and so many more. That’s the kind of writing I hope to find each time.

And of course the pictures! I love the fact that the pictures in Rogue Magazine give that edgy BOOM! Well, the ape stole the show, and I’m sure there are a lot of other pictures you could’ve considered, but I guess you decided to play safe.

Anyway, I hope you guys over at Rogue Magazine are not going soft! And I certainly hope the November issue of Rogue Magazine will be a lot better. With the stuff that I know it’s capable of churning out – edgy, meaty, gritty, controversial and notorious – you know, Rogue-ish!

PS- The midgets versus the gays – that was hilarious!

2 Responses to “Philippine Lifestyle: Ruffa Mae Quinto Is Rogue Magazine’s Latest Cover Girl”

  1. Hey there JJ!

    Thank you for your comments and feedback. Good or bad, we can always learn and improve. If you won’t tell us the way it is… then who will! Our November issue is currently in stores now, I suggest you pick up a copy. Hope it is the Rogue you know and love. It is our Art issue, and I am very proud of what our Editorial Team churned out! Hope you enjoy it too!

    See you at our November wrap party! 🙂

    Cheers mate,

    Katz

  2. Katz,

    No problem. I read the stuff on the email about what’s going to be in the November Issue. Yup, it’s a good line-up of writers. And Art is always fun to work out on a magazine, and I’m sure Rogue will have a field day with the visuals. That’s going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

