Philippine Music: Razorback 18th Year Anniversary Concert At 19 East!

On a personal note, Razorback is one of my favorite Pinoy rock bands of all time alongside Wolfgang. 18 years ago, Razorback and Wolfgang were back-to-back performers at places like Kalye and Pep’s Alabang. Of course, it helped that most of them were all friends to begin with. I won’t even try to go into the history of it lest I screw it up.

Anyway, of course, Wolfgang is no longer around, but Razorback has continued on throughout the years. And when I considered doing a coffee table book about a rock band, I easily considered Razorback to be my first and only choice because they are probably the only band that can cross generations, having ben around for so many years and still continue to rock! Well, that project is still on hold pending further talks with Patrick Pulumbarit (Razorback’s manager) and Jay Ignacio, who I strongly felt should be the editor-in-chief of the book. But then, that’s a different story altogether.

Kevin Roy and Tirso Ripoll of Razorback

Kevin Roy and Tirso Ripoll of Razorback (photo by Josh Castro)

A memorable Razorback story that I had was in Baguio, circa 2003 or 2004. I had just driven a bus from Sagada, Mt. Province to pick up my car in Baguio City, preparing to drive home to Manila. It was around 7PM in the evening and I happened to pass by Nevada Square which was having an event for the Marlboro Adventure Team. I noticed the wall climbing facility and decided to drop by and see if my rock climbing buddies were the ones behind the event, and sure enough they were. I also found out that Razorback would be performing later that night.

I stayed, met up with the guys from Razorback, put myself on as the official Baguio groupie and took on the responsibility of handing out beers to the band while they performed on-stage. I had earlier told myself that I would drive home at 7PM to make it back to Manila by midnight, but I ended up party-ing it out with Razorback until they finished their gig at 2AM, and I remember telling them – “Sige, boys, uwi na ako ng BF Paranaque!” Well, not immediately. I managed to catch some much-needed rest at the Caltex station at the foot of Marcos Highway before continuing my journey at 6AM back to Manila. All I can say is – Razorback eh.

Anyway, Razorback will be celebrating their 18th year with a huge concert at 19 East in Sucat, just near home. Of course, that will surely be a spectacular concert, especially at 19 East which boasts of the best sound system and acoustics for any type of performance. 19 East is definitely a musicians haven for performance, and it’ll surely be great to listen to Razorback rock the house with their awesome songs. To the boys – Kevin Roy, Tirso Ripoll, Louie Talan, Brian Velasco and Manuel Legarda – I’m looking forward to hearing you guys again. And I will buy an 18th Anniversary Razorback T-shirt which will be available for that night only worth P250. Rock on!

3 Responses to “Philippine Music: Razorback 18th Year Anniversary Concert At 19 East!”

  1. People are asking if tickets are being sold. I honestly don’t know the answer to that. All I know is that commemorative shirts are being sold. 🙂

  2. Oh yes, and the Razorback concert is already this coming Friday night. Tomorrow night!!!

  3. jepoxz-rockNroll Says:

    sana mag ka consert ulet sila kung cnu man ang nakaka alam reply po sakin tnx sa email ko po tnx jepoxz15@yahoo.com yan po email ko tnx

Leave a Reply

