Island No. 132 of 7,200 Philippine Islands

Island No. 132

Lisa Rossiter shared with me this photograph while we were chatting the other day, and apparently this island is found somewhere here in the Philippines. “You’re guess is as good as mine,” she answers when I ask exactly where it is. I was skeptical at first. I mean, it could’ve been an awesome job done in Photoshop, but Lisa was insistent on its authenticity. Apparently, the same picture was featured by the dudes at National Geographic apart from being featured in another site called Purplyana: Culture of the Philippines. So, OK, I’m sold.

Now that I’m convinced that the photograph is real and authentic, next comes the question – where the hell do they get their food or their fresh water from? What about sewage? And who the hell was in charge of the zoning? And what kind of idiot would still want to add yet shanty No. 66 after discovering that 65 already packed the island? What can i say? Life’s a beach.

Well, the situation of Island No. 132 (I just named it that on a whim) is no different from what is going on in Metro Manila or in other parts of the Philippines. People crowd on an island and congest it to the max without regard on the need to adhere to some zoning and prepare the necessary resources such as a fresh water supply, or even sewage, or garbage disposal. And for lack of any creativity, they’ll put up Jojo’s Fresh Pineapples right in between Lucy’s Pineapple Stand and Betty’s Pineapples. Some idiot tourist, who notices the abundance of pineapples and pineapple stands, will still manage to ask “Miss, pineapple lang lahat, wala bang guyabano?”

26 Responses to “Island No. 132 of 7,200 Philippine Islands”

  1. no sheet! is this for real?! hahaha

  2. […] was looking for Ondoy pictures this morning when I ran across this entry: Island No. 132 of 7,200 Philippine Islands. According to the entry, this particular island in the Philippines was featured on the National […]

  3. for real? I wanna go there. hahaha.. interesting! but i just wanna go there. not live there. hehehe

    • I don’t know exactly where that is. But I believe there’s a link on that post going to National Geographic and the almost exact location to that place. Check it out!

  4. buzzy budlong Says:

    i paddled and hang out with the locals in this kind of island. you can find a lot of this from north west of Bohol and sad to say that the government and and LGU is not focusing on the potential of this beautiful islands. Some island is cramped and this is where the illegal fishers lived and the other side of the island is private owned. limit the settlers and provide livelihood programs tho them and include them to the tours…

    island buzz

    • Buzzy, You are my idol. I guess since you have time to reply to this post means that you’re done with your kayaking expedition from Mindanao to Luzon. Excellent achievement. When you get the chance, let me know where all these kinds of islands can be found. We should figure something out for these people, for the islands and for some eco-tourist possibilities. Cheers!

  5. buzzy budlong Says:

    check out the sea bed? beautiful… ayt? take a swim and grab a mask and snorkel and see if the corals is still growing…

    island buzz

  6. More eco-friendly places in the Philippines please!!!!! Calling on the government and private sectors!!!!

  7. that island # 132 is called BALOT ISLAND. Located in Sarangani province where Manny ” PAcman” Pacquiao now is the congressman. From General Santos City, you will sail for almost three hours to be there.

    Thank you… and it was amazing!

  8. @jayjay: you’re an idiot, and you can’t spell. that island IS NOT balut island. balut island is a f-ck-ng continent compared to this island, which appears to be barely 1 km in length. get your facts straight and quite lying.

    • OK. For a while I thought you were attacking me. I didn’t confirm nor deny that this is Balot/Balut island. jaYJAY may have a point, and funkydoody – despite his profanity – could be correct as well. I guess we need more citations to verify where this really is.

    • enough with corrections on SPELLING!!you’re rude. please have some manners ’cause you’re acting you don’t have one! SILLY YOU!!!!

  9. Can we just appreciate the beauty of our place? than just wasting our time acting like a critic! ’cause i’m telling you all, you’re not!!

  10. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    A lot of people will be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

  11. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent
    post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  12. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This type
    of clever work and coverage! Keep up the amazing works
    guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  13. it is a nice place ive ever seen in my life

  14. Thanks for finally talking about >Island No. 132 of 7,200 Philippine Islands « Philippines
    Fun Wall <Liked it!

  15. bing bing plegino Says:

    heii.. where is this place??/ its very beautiful//

  16. Hi there! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I
    had to ask. Does running a well-established website
    such as yours require a large amount of work? I’m brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal on a daily basis. I’d like
    to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for
    brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • Well, a lot of updates are required, which I haven’t done in a long time, but if you do a journal on a daily basis that’s pretty good.

    • Well, a lot of updates are required, which I haven’t done in a long time, but if you do a journal on a daily basis that’s pretty good.

  17. One of the many neighboring islands of Dawahon between Bohol and Leyte. Dawahon is bigger than this island and is much more crowded (http://wikimapia.org/6283734/Dawahon-Island-Bato-Leyte). The people are very hospitable though.

    Water is a major issue, so they maintain huge cisterns made of concrete molded like a banga but as big as a 2 even 3 storey house. Everyday, they bring in water by pumpboat from Bato, Leyte using 5-liter containers.

    It’s funny how people are not used to wearing slippers at least at that time that I went there. I befriended this native who have given up on slippers because as he said, he spends way too much money on new slippers. He removes them wherever he gets to sit and forgets to put them back on.

    We walked around the neighborhood with me in short pants and slippers. I later noticed that small pieces of yellow fecal matter were already sticking to my legs. I quickly rinsed at the nearest sea. You do get the feeling that fertilizer for the seaweed farms could be coming from the island.

    People there make a lot of money from seaweed. The shallow areas far from mainland – and freshwater runoff – makes the place ideal for farming seaweed (Eucheuma cottonii and Eucheuma spinosum) which is the source for carageenan in many products like shampoo, ice cream, beer, toothpaste and medicine capsules. I heard it’s a 17 nautical mile stretch of shallows. So yes, you could stand on 2 feet of water and not see an island anywhere on the horizon.

    I learned that during a harvest, most boys would go to Cebu and blow 50-70K sharing the harvest with guest relations officers.

Leave a Reply

